My Band Journey

For this post I decided to talk about one of my favorite things that I let go.

basoon
Bassoon Picture

It all started in middle school when I joined band. I knew I wanted to play the Bassoon because one of my friends at the time had one and I thought it looked pretty. Yep, that’s how my path as a Bassoonist started. Pretty anti-climactic, right?

Like every middle school band kid, I thought I was amazing. To be honest, I’m pretty sure I sounded like a dying whale. But, sooner enough, through lots of practice I actually managed to skip beginning band and went straight to concert band (intermediate band) in 6th grade. Since you guys might not know this, you usually don’t get into concert band until 7th grade. In middle school I thought I was all that. It was disgusting. Anyways, believe it or not, I didn’t want to join Marching Band in High School. I thought that it was stupid and I never wanted to play again (not even sure why).

After listening to my mom tell me about a million times that I should at least try it for a year, I finally gave in. I tried it for a year, and I couldn’t have been happier. Band is one of the highlights of my life. If you’ve been in band, you’d understand how much of a family they can become. Not only that, but High School also pushed myself into being a better Bassoonist. I came in very self conscious about my playing because I didn’t know what to expect. And yeah, I was decent, but after hearing my section play it pushed me to practice harder. Eventually, I improved a ton and even got the “most Improved Junior” award in band.

My Bassoon family was called the Bassoonion. There were 4 of them that originally created a group and they gladly accepted me as a member. When they all graduated they left it to me to pass on the group and our ways. I’ll never forget how much they all taught me, and how much I love those guys. I’m also glad I got to pass on the Bassoonion leadership to my good friends Rachel and June. Let’s just hope they care about it as much as I do! (P. S Rachel if you read this I know you do…just want to make sure.)

Word Count: 398

One thought on “My Band Journey

  1. Hey Danny,
    Personally, I picked up the bassoon because I thought it looked weird, so I think your reasoning at the time was better than mine. At least you picked it because you thought it looked nice.

    I wanted to thank you for being part of my own band family even if it was only for a short year. Your determination and talent inspired me and gave me the incentive to work harder.

    I hope I can continue on the Bassoonion tradition during the rest of my senior year and make it something you can be proud of.

    This semester really allowed me to get to know you better as a person. It was funny all the things I learned we had in common. I really hope we stay in touch as you go off into your college/adult life and I continue to struggle through the small remainder of my high school career. And hey, if you ever need someone to proof-read any more essays at 1 a.m.: I’m just a Facebook message away 🙂

    Thanks for everything! – Rachel

    Like

Leave a Reply

